earthPoems

Celebration of Life

‘Sometimes WE RESIST’ by Stephen Collis

green-movement

I was in a park
I could not see
global capitalism its
dinosaur bones
covered in chrome
I saw trees
their leaves
turning yellow and
golden brown
I saw the harbour
the city set down
below the mountain
I asked how do we resist?
Consider the trees
the mountain’s root grip
I asked what if they come
with saw teeth
for the trees
with horizontal
directional drilling
for pipelines through
mountain’s immobile heart?

Sometimes the voice
sometimes the voices
tear teeth from saw’s blades
sometimes a body
sometimes all our bodies
blunt the bits of drills
dull dollar’s desire
sometimes we resist
sometimes we win

From Stephen Collis’s new poetry collection Once in Blockadia. Stephen teaches at Simon Fraser University (SFU) in Vancouver.

Art work ‘Green Movement’ from womenpoliticalprisoners.com/artwork-2
..

No comments yet»

Leave a comment